Help needed with pausing and or looping

• 18 February 2016
  • 7 replies

Badge +8

Hello All,

I'm new to Nintex and have created a list with a pretty decent workflow. However, I am having some issue understanding how to set one component up.

I have a pretty large list that is basically a tracking log, with data input by multiple people.

Once a line is entered, I have a column that calculates a due date (adds 5 days to the date of entry).

I need for the workflow to send another person a notification when that date comes. I'm not sure of the best way to do this.

Please advise

7 replies

Badge +9

Hi Howard,

I shall go to a schedule workflow for that.

Each night, query the list to find the entries matching the due date with today and send the memo to the other person.

You will need a Query List action for that.

Best regards,

Christophe

Userlevel 6
Badge +12

Hello -

Christophe Raucq​  suggestion is spot on. If you create a site workflow that queries through your list and finds the items where [due_date] = [today], you can then send a notification. This keeps the list workflow from running for extended periods. You can schedule the site workflow to run everyday or whenever you desire.

Badge +8

Thank you for your help.

Should that action be before the e-mail?

I'm sorry but I have never used Nintex prior to this and all of this is new and confusing to me.

I'm assuming I whould be using the "query builder" option, select the list.

Do I make it recursive?

filter it to be the calculated date column is equal to "current date".

Do I keep XML encoded inserted tokens checked

and what is "Field?" (not sure what to select here).

I also don't see an option to select when the query runs.

After all of this is done, then what? lol

Do I just left the workflow continue on to "send notification" and all of the rest of the actions?

Sorry for so many questions.

Userlevel 6
Badge +12

This is how I would approach it:

Workflow Variables: