cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Not applicable

Call Powershell From Nintex

I want to execute a task or command on the SharePoint Server.

What Nintex product provides for this functionality?

Please include additional resources available regarding this topic.

Thanks

Labels: (2)
Tags (1)
23 Replies
Highlighted
Not applicable

Re: Call Powershell From Nintex

None of the default actions will call PowerShell.

Dataone have a product that works with Nintex Workflow. Most of their site is not in English but they do have some English content here http://de.slideshare.net/DataOneGmbH/data-one-poweractivity

Main site

http://www.dataone.de/Seiten/SharePointLoesungenPowerActivity.aspx

I have not tried these my self.

Highlighted
Nintex Newbie

I'm pretty new to the products and have just gone through training. I too wondered about firing a powershell script from a workflow. I haven't tried this, but couldn't you use an Execute SQL task to fire a T-SQL xp_cmdshell command that fires the Powershell script? 

There are definitely some assumptions made in this scenario: this assumes you have an MSSQL server available and that xp_cmdshell is enabled (a big "if", since that can be a security consideration). Also, I'm not sure whether you'd be able to actually return any information to the workflow using this method. But even if it can just simply fire a script, that may suffice for some needs.

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Nintex Newbie

First of all, I wouldn't recommend to allow freeform PowerShell scripts in any sort of a Workflow Activity. Otherwise, each workflow publishing iteration would require a thorough security and stability review.

Otherwise, I think it's possible to use Nintex SDK to create wrapper actions for specific allowed PowerShell cmdlets such as Get-Process, Get-ADUser, whatever is appropriate for your organization.

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Nintex Newbie