Not applicable

How do i initiate email reminder ones get Approved next renewal after 180 days send notification and alert for the user  ?

Jump to solution

Hi

I am a beginner user looking for help. I need to create a workflow Which remained the user for an approvalrenewal after 180 days from the first approval  (for example. today when the field has a approve 15/Oct/2014  again send email notification  and alert  for  next approved date 14/Apr/2015).  I am  having a hard time trying to figure out how to set it up.

Thanks & Regards

Saravanan

0 Kudos
4 Replies
andrewg
Automation Master
Automation Master

Re: How do i initiate email reminder ones get Approved next renewal after 180 days send notification and alert for the user ?

Jump to solution

There is definitely more than one way to accomplish this. Here is one example. You can create two workflows. One is a list workflow on the list where the items are. The second is a site workflow.

List workflow

This workflow simply has the approval task within and any other logic needed. It is only able to start manually, not automatic.

Site workflow

Schedule to run everyday (but I recommend once a week), And it queries the list and checks if an item's approve date is 180 days from the original approve date (+- 3days if running once a week). If the item is within range, then start the list workflow on the item.

You could also create a calculated field on the list and set it to 180 days from approve date (called next approval date). And query this field instead. Then when the approval is made in the list workflow, it could automatically update the original approval date to set it up for the next time.