cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Not applicable

Is it possible to change list display column without breaking workflow?

I am very new to Nintex but we have a case where users are customizing the list column names and the workflows are breaking.  Is there a way to create a nice "display column name" without breaking the underlying workflow?

Labels: (1)
12 Replies
Workflow Hero

Re: Is it possible to change list display column without breaking workflow?

It sounds like the workflow is attempting to reference a list column and the names are not matching. This should not happen as the workflow will hold the reference of the column and update any changes.

Are you able to see the history and see exactly where the failure is? Might be able to pinpoint the exact cause better.

0 Kudos
Accept as Solution Reply
Workflow Hero

It's a very good question to answer in the planning and governance documents and a topic to educate your users about.

Any change to a list's schema (including but not limited to column settings) while the workflow attempts to update an item will definitely break the workflow instance. At the same time, publishing another version of the workflow that modifies the schema as well will also cause trouble for users who opened their edit forms just before the publish operation - they are very likely to lose their changes and see an invitation to refresh the page and try again.

As for pending and new workflow instances, this may vary depending on the actions used in the workflow template, let's wait for an official response from Nintex (CC Frank Field​).

0 Kudos
Accept as Solution Reply
Not applicable

I just started a new position and this is all very new to me so I don't have access to the system to check.  According to my team, there are cases where the workflow does not automatically start and they say it is because users have made changes to field names and the workflow cannot find the field it needs.