cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Workflow Hero

Check if person already exists in other lists in people column

Hi, i'm still learning how to use Nintex Workflow.
Is it possible to check if the "assigned to" (person field) -user on my main doc library already exists in list A, or if not, in list B?
I'm working on a multi tier approval workflow. The other lists just contain different approver.

I just don't want the user to fill out my "helper" field "responsible employee". It would be great to replace this by workflow logic.
The approval WF should work like this:
- if "assigned to" is not "responsible employee" (RE) and not "team manager" (TM) then send 1st approval to "responsible employee" -> 2nd approval to "TM" 
- if "assigne to" is "RE" -> 1st approval to "RE" -> 2nd approval "TM"
- if "assigned to" is "TM" -> approval to "TM"
My environment:
2 lists
list A: responsible employee (RE) (person/group - can approve)
list B: team manager (TM) (person/group - can approve)

doc library: MainDoc
assigned to: (person/group)
responsible employee: (lookup from list A) - would be great if this could be hidden and done by wf logic
TM: (lookup from list B)
-

If I enter the "assigned to" in my MainDoc, with e.g. "Jane Doe", I want to check if she is already an "responsible employee", or a "TM" and can approve.
How can I check if the "assigned to" user already exists as an "RE" or "TM"?
I was thinking if I could store all person field values from "responsible employee" and "team manager" in a merged collection variable that I can check against to see if I have a match and then start the approval.

Currently the "employee" field must be filled manually:
-  manual search for dropdown "responsible employee" "Jane Doe"
 - if she is there select her
 - if she is not there select "(none)"
I want to avoid:
- making a gigantic list for lookup
- overcomplicate the workflow
- let the user fill out "helper" fields
Does it make sense?