cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Workflow Hero

Worflow beginners dilemma

I am new to the workflow process and looking for some pointers or be pointed in the right direction, I have a workFlow but it seems messy. I am used to workflows in Visio where if No then revert back to previous state. I do not seem to be able to do that with what I have. I use the Flexi Task and I want if reject to go back and reassign or continue workflow when accepted. Any thoughts?

17 Replies
Workflow Hero

Re: Worflow beginners dilemma

Hi Pete and welcome!

sounds like you need a state machine to revisit the process more than once. State machine defines the entry points, and the different states, but allows for different paths to be taken based on decisions.

‌ is an example of a state machine used to allow rejection and re-submission.

Accept as Solution Reply
Workflow Hero

I looked at the example you had. Is there another example on this?

I presume I will put the "State Machine" prior to Flexi Task. Am I correct in stating I would need other "state Machine" actions under the rejected of flexi task and under accepted?

0 Kudos
Accept as Solution Reply
Workflow Hero

So your flexi task would live under one of the states. And under reject and approve you would use a "change state" action to move to the required state (or jump out of the state machine).

let me have a quick search of the community to find some other examples - I am not on my machine at the moment so bear with me. 

Accept as Solution Reply
Workflow Hero

Accept as Solution Reply
Workflow Hero

Accept as Solution Reply
Workflow Hero

Accept as Solution Reply
Workflow Hero

Cassy,

Wanted to reply before I went home. I GREATLY appreciate this. The "State Machine by Example" defined it better for me. Still need to look at the "art of...", but still what I needed, a point in the right direction(s).

I will be testing my workflow out tomorrow (fingers crossed).

Accept as Solution Reply