Skip to main content

Hi Team!

I’m experimenting with the font awesome icons and skuid templates and was wondering if it is possible to trigger a snippet from a template field dropped in a table row (or anywhere for that matter).

My end result is a styled button or even just a font awesome icon by itself as a field anywhere in a table row (not table row action) that runs a snippet on click of the icon just like it would if a regular button in a page header or table row action icon was clicked.

Any help is greatly appreciated! My background is not in webdesign/coding so I’d need a bit of hand-holding to correctly design the template field html 🙂

Thank you in advance, 

Robin

Ok - I’m going to give you a simple answer first. This will show how to add an icon to the template field, and make it do somthing simple using HTML - like a redirect. Running a snippet is a different thing and a little more complicated. If this first answer doesn’t satisfy your use case, let me know and we can expand.

1. Drag a template field into your table.

2. Enter syntax like this in your field:

{{Name}}<a href = "http://www.google.com"; target = "_blank"><div class="sk-icon fa-anchor" style="float:right;"></div></a>

Lets parse that out a bit.

{{Name}}: this would be any merge field you want to add to the field. Remove if you just want the icon.

<a href = “http://www.google.com”; target = “_blank”> : This sets up the icon to link to some webpage. If it another skuid page the link would take the form: “/apex/skuid__ui?page=PageName”. You can also pass data into the HTML in order to make the link go to some specific record.

If you want the link to open in a new window - keep the target = “_blank” line. Otherwize it will open in the same window.

Replace the fa-anchor text with the name of the font awsome icon you want to include.

Hopefully this will get you going.

Hey Rob,