Skip to main content

I am new to Visualizations and I have a basic geochart: I have a custom object Distributors which is a Master- Detail to Accounts and a lookup to Products. I want my geochart to show the “Count” (aggregate) of Accounts (data) in each US state for a particular product. My problem is nothing shows up…like nothing… in fact I have tried a geochart on other pages with the same result… nothing. What am I doing wrong???

Megan…Do you have the State and Country Code Picklists enabled in your SF org?  The Geocharts require the use of the 2 letter abbreviations for each state.  If you are using the standard SF field for State, I think it is a string field.  Unless you populate it with the 2 letter abbreviations, the Geochart has no way to ‘group’ the data by state.  This also applies to the Country field.  You must be using the 2 letter abbreviation.  Enabling the State and Country code pick lists is probably the right way for you to get this setup, but you will need to update your data.

Thanks Bill.  Megan, let us know if your data is set up the way Bill suggests and we can do some deeper troubleshooting. 

Yes, the picklists are enabled I am still getting nothing…

Megan…I can understand your frustration.  This is strange.  Your setup in the chart looks good.

Can you post your models settings (click on the name of the model and then select the ‘advanced’ tab)?  Also, how many records do you have in your object?

I have 3 records in the model with 3 different states.

I think what Bill is getting at is “Is there data at all”  This might best be done by building a table on that model that has at least name, country and state.   If you are getting data,  and the coutnry and state values are 2 digit codes - then we need to turn to the map and look there. 

Does that make sense?