SharePoint dynamic group string User Management Event

• 9 January 2017
  • 4 replies

Hi,

I have to look up a sharepoint group . The group name to be searched for is a dynamic string and I am usig usermanagement event to grant permission. But when I use a dynamic string i get the error Server was unable to process request. ---> The User/Group does not appear to be discoverable.]]

However when I do a dynamic username it works fine. I am having issue only in group name.

Please help. I am relatively new to K2 blackpearl.

4 replies

Badge +7

I am not quite understanding. Is this a workflow and if so is it in designer or K2 Studio or is this a form.

By dynamic string I assume that means a user is typing something in and you want to find a group. Are you calling a smart object and if so which one.

A little more information might help to understand what is being asked.

Thanks so much for your reply,

This is a workflow built in k2 studio. By dynamic string i mean something like "Contant string - " + Worflow Item Column value. Lets say "Worflow Item Column value" has two values 01 and 02 as a dropdown colum . if 01 is selected on creating the sharepoint item, it should search for group name "Constant string - 01" . And if 02 is selected it should search for "Constant string - 02" .  Both the groups already exist in the site.

Badge +7

I have not set this up in my environment to replicate this but I have an alternate solution that might work.

It seems you are setting line item or permissions based on the type of record. If record =1 then assign to group1 and record=2 assign to group2.

Rather than trying to build a SharePoint group from a dynamic string. Divide your workflow action into two actions. Action1 will assign permissions to group 1 and Action2 would assign permissions to group2. You would use a line rule record=1 to send to Action1 and record=2 send to action 2.

Does this seem to apply to your situation?