Skip to main content

Is it possible to prefill a smartform with "data" based on the logged on user ID.

I have a Smartobject that uses Smartbox to store the data. I have created an Item View for this smartobject that has a CREATE method. This view has data fields that I could like to prefill based on the current user name (System Values - Current User - Name) and a lookup in Active Directory.

This could either be done when the view inizalises or when the user clicks a "Prefill" button on the view or form.

I would like to prefill fields/controls like First name, Surname, Department and so forth.

I am a complete new beginner with K2 Smartforms, so please explain in basic steps.

I'm not sure if this is exactly the same scenario you are after, but I found a question that looked similar to the one you asked.

http://stackoverflow.com/questions/24682360/populating-k2-smartobjects-from-ad-attributes

Hi Kjell_Magne,

This should be fairly easily accomplished.  In a smartform, you can use the context browser to get basic information about the logged in user as shown below.

From there, you've got a few options.  You can pass the information here (Like FQN) to a method of one of the active directory smartobjects to populate any other fields on the form.  This can be driven by a button (when "button" raises an event), or can be done once the form intializes automatically (when form executed "initialized")

Hopefully that gives you a bit to get started on, let me know how progress goes and I can help further.

Regards,

Mike

Hi 

My team is encountering a similar question. We'd like to auto-populate a New form with user attributes from Active Directory (First/Last Name, Department, Office). We have a limited number of options available in the System Values > Current User node of the context browser, but Department and Office are not included.