Total beginner - I need help...

• 21 January 2011
  • 3 replies

Badge +2

Hi Everyone,

I'm really hoping someone can help me out. I'm a total beginner with k2 - just installed it in our staging envrionement a few days ago.

Now I am trying to program a sharepoint workflow with K2 Studio and I have no clue where to start.

We tried a Nintex trial and I was able to program my workflow within a few days and it was completely easy to figure out. But with K2, it's night and day... I'm sitting at the Start step - and I have no clue what my next step should be... I've been looking at the help docs - but they aren't much help... I just find it overwhelmingly complicated...

So that's why I'm coming here - hoping somone can at least stear me the right direction with some help in laymen terms... I really need it to be explained in a detailed and basic way if possible.

Here are my requirements for the workflow:

- I have two lists. One called Release Plans and another called Conflict Tracker.
- The workflow needs to be started when items are added or changed in the Release Plans list (this I was able to figure out).
- If the newly added/modified item has a release date that is within 3 days of another Release Plans item - write a record to the Conflict Tracker list.
- Email the manager of the conflicting release with a link to the new record created item in Conflict Tracker so that they can acknowledge the conflict and approve it. 

To me, this workflow isn't very complex... Looping through data on a list and comparing the dates to the current items date and creating a tracking item for each conflict.... But interpretating it in K2 seems hard. 

Thank in advance everyone...

Martin

3 replies

Badge +9

Hi Martin,