Chain of Managers Approval process good, but not quite there.....

• 16 December 2015
  • 5 replies
  • 1 view

Badge +4

Hi

I found this article by Emily - Use a chain of managers in an approval process trouble is EVERY manager in the chain gets an approval request, so great article but not quite there for me, I need to stop the loop after the request is approved by a named person is this possible?

I am a beginner so loads to learn, and I have seen this question asked quite a few times.

My workflow approval chain:

• Initiator > (Using Reference 'Initiator')
    • Initiators Head of Dept.. > (Using Reference 'Manager')
      • Head of Dept. Manager > (Cannot find a reference for Manager's Manager)
        • workflow should stop here

I have had a couple of suggestions and thanks guys but still not what I am looking for, it seems so simple a task and gets asked a lot, sorry for asking again...

Regards

John

5 replies

Badge +17

John,

Try this...

154283_pastedImage_1.png

• Assign Flexi-Task > Assigned is the Initiators Manager
  • Set a variable to the initiators manager only if its approved. No point in doing this if its denied.
  • Query LDAP with the variable to find the manager of the manager
  • Assign the flexi-task > Assigned will be the output of the LDAP query
  • Finish the workflow as needed.
Badge +4

Eric,

This is great help and many thanks, couple of questions:

1. This is the variable I created:

Pic1.bmp

2. This is the Configure Action - Set variable that I created

Pic 2.bmp

3. This is the LDAP Query that I used (obvious stuff x'd out)

Pic 3.JPG

4. Finally, this is the Assign Flexi task settings

Pic 4.JPG

Would these be the correct settings? I have attached the workflow in my next post as I cannot do it here, if you can find the time to check it over I will be most grateful.

Many thanks in advance

Kind regards

John

Badge +17