How to approve/reject a workflow via blackberry?

• 23 February 2009
  • 5 replies

Badge +1

Hello,everyone, Is there any approaches to approve or reject a workflow via blackberry email? And how to resolve the security problems? When I use the blackberry email to open the web form to accept or reject a workflow, the blackberry display the error message: fail to login to the server. And anyone can help me? Thanks. 

5 replies

Badge +5

There are a couple of things to consider here.  First, it sounds like the user is opening a Web form on the device to action a worklist item (as opposed to approving/rejecting from an email on the device).  If this is the case, your code behind on the web page will need to impersonate the user who is logged in to the form.  I'm not a Blackberry expert but this concept is the same regardless if it is a Blackberry user or a normal PC user.  Basically when the user logs in to the form, the form must know who the current user is so it can impersonate that user, open his/her worklist, and then action that particular worklist item.  This doesn't necessarily have to be AD, as other custom Security Providers can be used (i.e. custom LDAP user store).  So, my question to you is how are you authenticating Blackberry users logging in to a web form that isn't connected to a K2 process? 

There is sample code available in the K2 documentation on how to do this, but it basically looks like this:

1. User logs in to website
2. Connect to K2 server
3. Impersonate the connection for the currently logged in user 
4. Load his/her worklist item (passing in the SN)
5. Enumerate through the worklist item's available actions, and if it matches what the user selects, execute that action

My lack of knowledge falls in the realm of authenticating Blackberry users.  I know that Windows Mobile devices can be part of a domain and can easily be authenticated, but perhaps someone else here can chime in on Blackberries.