How can I get the current user's Manager with Web Request Control (Forms)

Userlevel 4
Badge +10

Hi Folks,

I just got Nintex Forms and I need to figure out how to use a Web Request Control to get User Profile information. As a test case, I would like to add the control to my form configured as label or text to show the current user's manager. Can anyone demonstrate how that is done?

Thanks and Best Regards,

Patrick

13 replies

Badge +16

You can use an expression and in the for builder query the user profile?

Userlevel 4
Badge +10

Thanks for the reply Cassy Freeman,

I am new at forms. Can you screenshot what you are talking about?

Thanks!

Badge +16

Hi

Sorry about that, I was replying off of my phone so I couldn't shoot you any screenshots...

This is the control you are looking for in your toolbox on nintex forms:  Calculated Value.PNG

Drag it to where you want it on the form and double click it to configure.  Use the formula builder button to access named controls and the inline functions such as userProfileLookup.

In the below image, we are pulling the manager of the person entered into the "RequestedBy" named control.  We are then doing a userProfileLookup of that returned value to get the display name for the manager:

userProfileLookupFormulaBuilder.PNG

with the formula userProfileLookup(userProfileLookup(RequestedBy,"Manager"),"PreferredName")

if you wanted just the manager you would use:

userProfileLookup(RequestedBy, "Manager")

and if you don't want to look for the manager of the person chosen inside a control, you could replace RequestedBy with the Current User under the common tab in the formula builder.

Hope that helps...  happy.png

Userlevel 4
Badge +10

Hi Cassy,