sharepoint list synchronization

• 25 June 2008
  • 6 replies

Badge +3

Hi all,

I am trying to build a part of my process that is similar to the built in sharepoint list alert. The process is triggered by a SharePoint event process, when an item is changed on List A.  Here is how I have mapped out the activity:

1. Get List Items from List B

2. Send an email that shows the fields from the process folio data and List B (to show which fields have been changed)

3. Update List A with the process folio data

I am having some problems in the last step.  Basically, it is a step to synchronize List A and List B, but when I use the SharePoint List Item Wizard and choose Update List Item, I could not seem to map the new data to the correct List Item ID.  Could somebody please help a newbie here?  Thanks in advance!

Brian

6 replies

Badge +11

Hi Brian,

Are you asking how you specify the list item ID in the SharePoint List Item Wizard?  You can specify it on the same page of the wizard where you specifiy the SharePoint site URL and list in the field called "List Item ID".  I think the real trick in this case is finding the ID of the item you wish to update.  In that case, you might want to take a look at the SharePoint Search Wizard.

Badge +3

Hi David,

Thanks for the quick response.  Yes, I was having a little bit of problem with the ID of the specific list item.  Basically, there should be only 1 item on both List A and List B.  When I run the List Item wizard to update list item and specify the list item ID to be 1, the process deploys properly, but it would not update List B.  When I go into ViewFlow for the process, the update list event was never processed.