Solved

Looking to create a workflow to send email based on date from Calculated column

• 25 September 2017
  • 12 replies

Badge +3

Hello,

I am fairly new to Nintex, and need to create a workflow to send email based on date from calculated column.  

Currently there is a document library with 1500 documents. The documents have a  date column named "Valid Until" , and  I need to send an email 30 days before that date is reached. I created a Calculated column  named "Alert Date" with the formula =[Valid Until]-30

How do I query all the items in the Doc Library and send an email based on the calculated column  date  equals today? or current date?

Any advise would be appreciated.

Thanks,

PaulG

icon

Best answer by borrajaya 28 September 2017, 17:34

View original

12 replies

Userlevel 5
Badge +13

Hi Paul,

Instead of using a calculated column for Alert Date, I suggest creating a date column for this and updating that column with a list workflow.  The workflow runs on item create or modify, calculates the Alert Date for Valid Date minus 30, stores that date in a workflow variable, and finally updates the Alert Date for the item.

Then you can create a site workflow and run it on a schedule.  The workflow can query the list for Alert Date = Today's Date and store those list item IDs in a collection.  Then it can loop through the collection and send out the emails. 

Badge +4

It's as simple as what Eric said.

Libraries can be queried with the 'Query List' action. If you already have a datefield with a valid date in it you don't even need a second field.

Just query List - Filtered: Valid Until is smaller than or equal to [Today] + 30

Now there are a number of approaches to continue, depending on the metadata you need.
1. You only need metadata you know 'will' be available (filename, size, creator, )

2. You need metadata that might not have been filled in.

solution to 1: