design generic approval

• 6 October 2005
  • 5 replies

Badge +3
I am new to K2 and would like to try the following as my first project using K2 and and existing web application.

My web application currently has a workflow step in it. The user selects names from a prefilled list based on business logic. I want to create a K2 workflow step to replace my current workflow approval process.

I am looking for the best way to set this up in K2. I have the ability to choose parallel or serial for each step. The workflow that has N number of approvers. If there are any rejects, the workflow should end.

Can some experienced developers give me some advice on how they would design the K2 solution?

Thanks,

5 replies

Badge +9
Hi, before starting with this it is important to understand the basics. The training material is aimed at people with no previous K2.net experience. Please download the training modules @ http://portal.k2workflow.com/downloads/training.aspx
Badge +3
I have already been through the training modules and attended a 2 day training class. So I believe I do understand the basics. I was asking for some design advice.
Badge +9
In order for me to provide help I need to understand the requirements in more detail. Please explain the business case in more detail.
Badge +3
Understood, let's take it in pieces.

I would like to pass in a group name and have emails sent to each user in the group and then have a task put in each person's worklist.

My xml looks like this.

</Approvers>
<Approver> <Name>Shawn.Bankert</Name> <Type>userid</Type> <Email>TZuff@K2WFServer.com</Email>
<Action/>
</Approver>
<Approver>
<Name>LegalDept</Name> <Type>Role</Type>
<Email></Email>
<Action/>
</Approver>
</Approvers>

The type determines whether I am going to send to a group or to a particular user.

I have a server event that resolves the email addresses , I am not sure how to handle getting the email addresses from those in a group.

Thanks.
Badge +11