Skip to main content

We are currently in production with K2 4.7.  I need to install and configure a new K2 5.1 development environment.  I know that we need DNS entries for K2 5.1 - but I'm not sure how many we need and what they are for.  Our current K2 4.7 environments have three DNS entries for K2 Farm, K2 Smartfarms and K2 Web components/Workspace.  Are these same three needed for K2 5.1?  If not, what are they?

Thank you,

Emily

Hi Emily,

I am not an expert on this matter, but I will try to explain what I know. If there is anyone who has more experience on this matter, please feel free to correct me or add on to what i have below.

The purpose of DNS is to resolve hostnames to a ip address. How many entries you need will depend on your setup and requirements. Let's say I have 3 servers in my environment:

Server/Computer Name               Purpose

web                                                   Web server (for hosting smartforms)

app                                                    K2 server (app)

db                                                      Database server

* Server/Computer name here refers to the name assigned to the server on the server itself. You can view this opening command prompt, and enter "hostname" (without quotes).

When these servers are first joined to the domain, 3 DNS entries should automatically be created to map the server names to their respective ip addresses. If these entries are not created, you have to check with your infra admin.

In such a non load-balanced environment, just having these 3 DNS entries is sufficient. Your app server will have K2 setup to connect to the database server via the server name (db). Your web server will have smartforms setup to connect to your app server via the server name as well.