Filter Approval Participants Group based on department

• 15 August 2017
  • 4 replies

I am new to K2 Blackpearl and the first workflow I'm working on creating has the following scenario that I"m not sure how to handle.

There are six departments and there are managers within each of those departments. The process for appoving something that is for publication is that if the person is from the Accounting Department, the manager from within the Accounting Department cannot be the approver.

I have all of the mangers in an Active Directory group, but is there a way within the workflow to indicate that only the managers in that Active Directory group that are not from the Accounting Department are allowed to approve?

Right now, someone in Marketing is manually selecting one manager at a time to check with and if they don't respond, she goes onto the next one. Obviously, it is a perfect scenario to create into a workflow. 

Looking for advise on making this happen.

4 replies

Badge +8

mhines,

Do you know if the managers field in Active Directory is always up to date? If so you can create a simple rule that state if the person logged into the form is equal to the originators manager show message and close browser.

You can also create a field that stores the department of the originator. Then you can create a parameter and populate the param with the dept of the current user. If the stored field from the originator is equal to the parameter deny access. You would call this rule on all required states except the base state.

Another way to accomplish this if the organization is not big or the group this process is targeting is small group. Create a user reference list. The columns can be User Display Name, Manager Name. Create a rule that populates a parameter with the Manager or the originator. Then if Current User equals Parameter (Manager Name) deny access and close browser.

I hope one of these examples helps.

Thanks,

Bryan Peters

Bryan -