Create File From Image Stored in SQL Server Table

• 16 March 2017
  • 4 replies

Badge +4

Hi All. I am new to K2 so still in learning mode, so bear with me. I am building an application that stores an Image File to a SQL Server table. It works fine in terms of viewing in K2 and storing in the table. I am trying to write a process on the database side that creates an image file to the O/S. I have used both BCP method as well as sp_OACreate 'ADODB.Stream' to generate the file, which it does but the image is not readable. When I look at the data, I notice what appears to be xml tags at the beginning of the record so I am figuring that is part of my problem. I tried removing the tags but to no avail. Has anyone dealt with this before and can provide me with some guidance?

Thanks,

Steve

14354i18967993BFD514FF.png

4 replies

Badge +9

Hi Steven_rossi,

Your file data is in xml format, first use xml node method (in sql server) to fetch filename and file contents as column values while fetching convert file content as Text () datatype as this can hold your large binary data.

Example:

Declare @xml xml= '
<File>
<name>1</name>
<content>43423492394923492323fsd</content>
</File>
<File>
<name>2</name>
<content>43423492394923492323fsd7753r7ye7ryf78ye3734234234234</content>
</File>
<File>
<name>3</name>
<content>4</content>
</File>'

SELECT @xml.value('(/File//name/node())[1]','varchar(50)') AS FileName,
cast ( @xml.value('(/File//content/node())[1]','varchar(max)') as Text )as FileContent

Then try to use DataLabel with Expression having html Image tag to show it in your smartform

Example:

Add column with datalabel in ListView and check literal option and add expression as shown in below image

Badge +4