Skip to main content

Whenever I attempt to open the CHM files on my machine, the file only displays the menu (left panel), but not the topic's contents. 

I have saved the install files (including the CHM file) on my G: drive. The file I am attempting to open is the "K2 [blackpearl] Getting Started.chm" file (in BP Service Pack 1).

(i.e. "G:UtilitiesK2BlackPearl_Sp1SP1K2 [blackpearl] with Service Pack 1 - Build 014")

I am running Windows XP Professional. Past recommendations was to copy the file onto a Windows 2003 server VPC and open it ther (not a very convenient option). 

I suspected it was due to any/all of the following:

• Long path name string
  • Special characters in the path name
  • Non-standard drive
  • missing HH.exe (Windows Help application)
  • Not sufficient Permissions
  • Alternate/unsupported drive format

My troubleshooting has included:

• I am a local admin on the machine.
  • Attempt to load other CHM files works.
  • All drives are the NTFS format (no differences).
  • Copied the file to root folders and a subfolder on my C:, 😨, J: drives. CHM Loaded fine in each test.
  • Copied the CHM file onto my (Windows XP) Desktop. It loaded fine.
  • Copied the file into the various parent folders on the G: drive (all worked).
  • Attempting to opening it again from the original 'problem' folder worked (?!)

Barring further research, I can only guess that the file was eventually cached (Windows took a while to index the new G: drive contents (an external USB drive, as was the J: drive). Now that the CHM file is recognized, it loads the menu and contents every time without an issue.

Recommendation: Copy the CHM file to the Windows Desktop and open it. It should open. If not, try another common Windows folder ('My documents') and attempt to load it.

Cheers.

I have found this on a lot of CHM files.  Drives me nuts that I cant open them from my network drive.