Skip to main content

Hey K2 community, this is my first time trying to build an editable list view and I'm having an issue.  My main DB table has two columns which are foreign key IDs to other tables.

These tables have an ID and a description.  Their purpose is just to serve as a drop-down.

On my list view I want to show the descriptions, but on the Add/Edit Item line I want to show drop-downs.

I made a composite SmartObject of all the tables so that I could show the description in the list view. But I can't figure out how to get the drop-down to work.  If I change the control field from Description to ID on the Add/Edit Item line, then it changes it on the list view.

Any help would be appreciated. It's a silly thing to be stumped on but alas, I am.

Victoria,

You might have to manually do a Data Transfer of the value to the Drop Down (rather than setting the field as a property of the Drop Down) when you start "editing" a row.  Since there is only one instance of the Drop Down this should bypass the built in magic that is currently uses.

You might also, however, have a problem on your editing if your table only has two columns.  Lets say you have records:

ID,  RelatedId

1  ,   1

1  ,   2

1  ,   3

If I want to change 1, 2 to 1, 4 then I have to know that it WAS 1 , 2 to perform the update.  That might not be a problem here, but if this is your table, then it might make life easier to have an autogenerated (Identity or guid) as the immutable primary key then you can build unique indexes on the two fields to maintain good relations.  That is not part of your question, but I had a collegue that got really confused by this and add the key field both made the SF simple to read, but also made it easier to them to maintane.

Nathan

Sorry Nathan, either your response is one step ahead of me or I'm just misunderstanding. Allow me to elaborate my scenario... Let's say I have two database tables...

First table: Form_Data.

Columns: ID, Category_ID, Details.