Skip to main content

I know this is a total newb question, but I'm stumped and can't find anythign obvious that I've done incorrectly. On a view, I have a submit button that I'd like to set to disabled, then when the fields are fully filled the submit button should become available to click. I've created a rule that has conditions for each field "contains a value", and at the end to "enable submit button control". However, when the view is fully populated the Submit button doesn't become available. The only thing I can see that's different from the other rules on the view is that mine shows as "unbound" while the others show "(View)" at the end. What am I doing wrong? How do I fix this?

Hm... that is an interesting dilemma.  I believe this condition and rule is likely not executing because there is not an event that would kick this off.  Usually a rule will have this structure:

When an 'Event' executes (i.e., when view initialize, when button click, when control is changed)

If a 'Condition' is met (if view passes validation, if control contains value)

Then execute an 'Action' (transfer data, execute something, change a control property)

But in this case, we just have a condition and an action.  I believe the issue here may that it is an "if" condition, and not a "when" condition, such as:

When view pass validation

Then do something

I would think that an additional component will also need to exists here for a "When" to work (a loop, a listener, a seperate thread?)

There does need to be an event for your rule to execute.  What I might do is make an unbound rule (one with no event) that you can re-use, and put the condition "If the view passes validation", then the action "Enable the submit button control".  Then on every required control, I'd add a rule with the event "When the control is changed"  and the action "Execute another rule" pointed to the unbound rule.  I agree that a "When the view passes validation" event would be a nice feature to have.