Skip to main content

Hello,

I'm new to Nixtex form designer for SP 2013. I have a field called "Privacy Waiver" that I've created on the list. I have dropped the yes/no control on to the form and did not connect it to a field. I then setup the required validation with some text if it doesn't validate. When I connect it to the "privacy waiver" field, the control removes the required validation. Is there a way to set this up without needing to resort to a javascript customization?

Thank You,

Trevor

Yes - Nintex Forms has "Validation" type rules.  Simply place one of these type of rules on your Yes/No check box to either validate it when checked, or when not checked (whichever you require).

Formatting vs Validation Rules in Nintex Forms

Thanks

Hi Mike,

Sorry if I wasn't clear. I was asking why when I connect a yes/no field to a field in the SP list does the simple validation get removed? It works when it is not connected to a field but when it is connected to a field it dissapears? also what does the act of connecting a nintex form field to the list form field do? just saves the data in that column?

Thank You,

HI Trevor,

I think I understand your situation, you are referring to the "required" box that sometimes appears and then sometimes vanishes when you connect to a given Sharepoint field.   For the most part, connecting a field on the form to the Sharepoint field in the list will inherit the properties configured for that field in the SP list.

In the case of a Yes/No field - in Sharepoint terms, it will either be a value of Yes or No (no matter what). Making it required doesn't really make sense to it, because it will always have a value (Yes or No).