Skip to main content

Hello,

I am new to K2 SmartForms. I am in the process of converting our automated forms and workflows to K2. On one of our forms we capture an image of the user’s signature from a folder on a drive. Basically we collected signatures from certain users and saved them as an image. When the user opens the form for approval their signature appears on the form based on their employee ID. Can we accomplish the same process in K2?

See attachment for example.

Thanks,

Bones

16963i16B6BFD76C217A8D.jpg

Bones,

There might be a couple ways to do this.  One would be to create an Active Directory custom attribute that points at a web page that associates a signature with a user (http://aryannava.com/2011/07/04/adding-custom-attributes-to-active-directory-user-profile/).  So when you created a new user, you could generate their signature as well and add that to the metadata of their AD profile.  

If you understand creating a webservice, K2 is capabile of wrapping a smartobject around that.

Another way would be to create a digital signature SmartObject associating the username with their signature.  If you go into K2 Designer and create a simple smartobject, you can accomplish this by adding in three properties (ID, Username, Signature).  You can load the smartobject in with signture data tieing it in with your companies usernames.  Then when a form is rendered, you can test to see if they have a signature and load it in if it exists.
12408i4AD11AE5BCE27961.png

Hi David,