Skip to main content

I am new to K2!

I am trying to create a unique folio name for an IPC event. I have modified the Destination Rule to do this by using the GetVendorID function I created. This sets the slotInstanceDataa] variable to be something like "VendorID:001185". I want to use this value as the Folio name. I need to pass the VendorID value into the child workflow. I tried using the ActivityInstanceDestInstanceData field in Folio field but it appears to be empty. My thought was to pull the VendorID from the Folio field and pass that to the child process.

Destination rule code from wizard...
if (K2.Configuration.DynamicSlots)
for (int i = 0; i < slotCount; i++)
{
 slotInstanceData = initData + ":" + GetVendorID(i);
}
}
K2.Slots = slotCount;
K2.SlotInstanceData = K2.Configuration.SlotInstanceData;

The bottom line is I need to pass a unique VendorID value into a child process. All of the data I am using is coming from repeating elements.

Partial xml data
<Vendors>
 <Vendor>
  <CompanyName>Bonney Forge</CompanyName>
  <VendorID>004591</VendorID>
  <Manufacturer>Bonney Forge</Manufacturer>
 </Vendor>
 <Vendor>
  <CompanyName>Mid-States Supply Co.</CompanyName>
  <VendorID>001185</VendorID>
  <Manufacturer>Velan</Manufacturer>
 </Vendor>
</Vendors> 

Hope this makes sense to someone. Any ideas would be appreciated.

When Defining IPC, there is option to pass the values from Parent process to Child process. Create a new datafield "VendorId" in your process. Assign VendorId datafiled in your IPC which will be passed from PArent to child process.

In the activity Where you have IPC event,

1.)add one server event before that.

In Newly added server event Assign the Datafield "VendorId" to the value, Now when IPC event will be executed , Datafield VendorId will have the desired value and will be passed on to child process.

OR 

2.) In destination rule code, assign the datafield value to the desired value.