Skip to main content

I've been playing around in K2 for a few months now and I think i understand the basics of events and activities and smartobjects based off of what is covered in the 101 tutorial.  The problem is that I know there's a level that's deeper than that and I feel like I'm missing a manual somewhere that discusses how to get deeper into K2 development

Examples:

- SmartObject lifecycle management - what are the best practices for rolling out a new version of a SmartObject?

- Repeating rules.  Right now, in each step of my workflow, I have the same two line rules (Path A and Path 😎 based off of a calculation in the SmartObject.  Currently, I have to make approximately 800 clicks (a little hyperbole I know) in the designer to accomplish this for each event.  if this were code, I'd simply pass the the value and the ID of the next step, but it's not readily apparent how to do this.

- caused somewhat by the previous two knowledge gaps, I found myself needing to rename a smart object and manually rename all of the line rules in the workflow.  There's got to be a better way.

- I see that there's a detailed API behind the scenes, but the pros and cons of writing straight code aren't immediately clear to me.  What do I get?  What do I lose?

Where's the missing K2 manual?

Unfortunately, there isn't really a "missing" K2 manual. There is the K2 blackpearl Developer Reference which you should be able to download from the portal which is probably where some of these answers will ultimately appear (but at this point, it doesn't answer any of them). Also, to provide a shameless plug, toward the end of the year the book Professional K2 blackpearl should be released and that will address many issues in greater depth.

You ask some pretty important questions.