Skip to main content

Hi,

I'm fairly new to smartforms. 

I have a bunch of text boxes, checkboxes and radio button groups in my view and they are bound to SmartObject Fields . All these fields are required fields. When the Form or the View is opened, I wanted to indicate that these controls are required either with a red astrisk or a red border around the control. The fields are defined as required in the SmartObject. I'm not intested in using conditional styling as I have write rules in so many places (when Form is initialized then on each controls lose focus, finally on submit button to validate if the values is present or not,etc. ). 

I tried view passes validation rule when the view is initialized, this work only for text boxes. i.e. only text boxes are highlighted. The rest of the controls are not bordered red. Also if I add a value to the required text box(that is red bordered) and empty the text box again, the border goes away. So the validation only fires the first time.

Is there a easy way to do this ,just like checking a checkbox  on a control that says that the control is required and it would automatically mark the control accordingly no matter whatever edits I make.  

Thanks!

Hi,

In the case of making users aware that these fields are required, you could use a Label control with text indicating so.

With regards to the styling of controls using validation, instead of setting a validation rule when the form is loaded - you could set a validation rule that checks whether the control is empty or not, in the event of the control being changed a rule event 'when the control is changed' could also be incorporated.

Regards

Thanks Taariq for your response. However if I have to mark all the labels red then it beats the purpose. Rather I'd leave them all in regular black color as the user is still not going to know which one he needs pay attention or having validation error.