Skip to main content

Hi, I have a form with 3 views. One of the views contains a list of items, I build this using a stored procedure as a SmartObject. That list should only shows certain rows from a table. I need to use a stored procedure to show all the fields I want or the list but I can't seem to pass a parameter in to the list method? It seems to be because it is a stored procedure. There must be a way around this but I'm new to K2 and don't know what the best way to do it is.

Can somebody please advise? Thanks

Hi Dan,

If i understood your concern really, then there are two ways to get it sorted:-

1.  Create an input parameter in the stored proc and pass this as an input value in the Get list method on the view rule

2. Let the list return everything and use the Filter option in the views in Get list method

Though the former approach is advisable but still it depends on case to case.

Regards

Gaurav Mehta

Thanks Gaurav, I understand 2. That sounds a decent workaround thanks.

I don't follow 1 though - "Create an input parameter in the stored proc and pass this as an input value in the Get list method on the view rule".

I've created the parameter in my stored procedure @LS_ID however it doesn't seem to prompt me for this at all. I tried to create that parameter named the same, etc, but it doesn't seem to take it as I receive an error saying it hasn't been passed to the stored procedure, etc.

Did you refresh the service instance after adding the parameter? I create Stored Procedures quite often with K2 and SQL and this would be the correct approach to passing data into a stored procedure to use that value as a filter in your procedure.

Also, as a trick if you want to make your input parameters optional as sometimes you may want to filter and others you don't, follow these additiona steps.

1) On the service instance configuration, set the value about using parameters to "false" so that your parameters will be exposed as properties.