Skip to main content

I am new to BlackPearl and new to K2, so I am hoping some of the more experienced people out there can help me out. I want to call a method on a web service from K2, supply it with some parameters and let it do its work. Seemed simple enough. Strangely though, I found that K2 doesn't appear to have a "web service" event wizard.

I don't want to have to write custom code every time I hook a new web service up to a K2 process, I'd prefer it to be just a little bit smarter than that.

So, failing that, does anyone have a solution? I can think of two, but I don't know how I'd go about achieving them:

a) Write my own event wizard which would allow me to select the web bethod to call and provide it with parameters. How do I write my own event wizard?

b) Write a generic thing which translates web services into smart objects with web methods corresponding to smart object methods. Has this been done before? Are there examples?

Thanks in advance

Ok, I have settled on (a) and realised that K2 BlackPearl has a "K2 Wizard Project" which ostensibly allows you to create a wizard.

So far, I am able to generate the requisite dlls, which are copied into the K2 Bin directory and registered in the GAC, the only problem is they don't appear in my toolbox. I've tried manually adding them to the tool box using the "Choose items..." feature but although it seems to recognise the dlls as valid, they still refuse to appear in the tool box.

Has anyone had any experience successfully writing, compiling and installing a K2 Wizard in Blackpearl (sp1)?

Have you reset the toolbox?

Do do this Right-click on the toolbox and select

Reset Toolbox. Once the toolbox has reset, if you do not see the icon for your wizard, just for fun try repeating the reset.

If the icon still does not appear check the ConfigurationManager.config file for any errors.