Writing LDAP Query

• 11 April 2019
  • 6 replies

Badge +1

Are there any tutorials/Links for absolute beginners when it comes to writing your LDAP queries in the Query LDAP Action? I am attempting to retrieve the organization that a User belongs to from Active Directory, and canont even retrieve my own user name without receiving the "No Results Returned" message.

(&(displayName= John Doe))

(&(displayName= Doe John))

And I'm seeing many posts in the community from many participants needing assistance with their queries, some which I have tried as examples in my own workflow, and I'm still not pulling back results. Are there any resources availabe that would walk me through the basics of writing my LDAP query?

And I have also verified that I have successfull test connection below.

Any help on this would be appreciated. Thanks.

1448iF3E937E5C7BC20DC.jpg

6 replies

Badge +7

Your Output is going to be an issue. The Output is the attribute name in Active Directory so, your {Initiator} value isn't going to be valid. Try something simple like department, mail, or sAMAccountName. 

Here's a screenshot from a working UDA I have for pulling user info from Active Directory:

If that doesn't work, you have some other issues going on.

If it does work, then start to expand on it where you can change 'sAMAccountName to another attribute.

For groups, you can try this:

(&(objectClass=group)(name=GroupName))
Badge +1

Thanks - but I am still having issues. The test connection is successful, but my queries still do not return any results. I'm not sure if it's anything in my development environment or not - I may have to reach out to reach out to Customer Central for Support to see if any other issues may be going on.

Badge +7

I'm sorry. I should've been more clear.

In the Run Now screen, you cannot use the variable names. So, you'll need to replace those with actual values for testing.