Guidance Needed | duplicating an item with changes added

• 31 October 2019
  • 3 replies

Badge +1

Hey Team,

I've bashed my head for over a week with this and finally submitting to the Nintex gods.

I'm a very novice user of Nintex.  I'm enjoying the potential but I'm very lost

Objective

Use a SharePoint list to capture user details and also any changes to the user's details.

The final result will then be imported to a database to join different datasets together.

Rules I'm struggling to implement

When a change occurs, make a copy of the item leaving historical changes and showing the new changes.

The validFrom and ValidTo columns should adjust based on the adjustments

Below is the vision of the end result.  

How I envision the use, when editing an item/employee, the end-user will make the change to the employee (switch role as an example) and choose when this change will take effect. 

The workflow should then adjust the historical copy Valid from (date of start) to date of this change) and then save the new changes.

I hope it makes sense,  I've tried several ways of doing this via workflows and also use the nintex form validation to try and implement changes.

Could someone kindly outline any advice on how to proceed with this?

SP is 2013 On-premise

First Name Last Name LOB Language Role user1 email user2 Training Start Production Start Leaver Date ValidFrom ValidTo
Agent One Sales EN Agent agent.one agent.one@companymail.com aone 01/12/2018 07/12/2018   01/12/2018 02/02/2019
Agent One Tech Support RU Agent agent.one agent.one@companymail.com aone 01/12/2018 07/12/2018   03/02/2019  

3 replies

Badge +12

@macpaulos .....Can't you use versioning option in the list? Could you please explain your requirement with more details?

Badge +1

@kunalpatel - Thank you for taking the time to reply. I may have missed the trick to use Versioning properly here.  I would need someone like yourself for guidance.  I might be looking at this all in the wrong way.