Solved

Last week day of the month expression

• 16 October 2020
  • 2 replies

Hello, I am new to K2 and I am trying to write an expression on a text box on a form to display a payroll cut off date which is the last week day of the month. I can get the last day of the month using the built in end of month operator but I am struggling to subtract days if the last day of the month is a Saturday or a Sunday. I have tried using an If weekday is Saturday then subtract days of 1 or if weekday is Sunday subtract 2 days but this results in a False being displayed. Has anyone done something similar or can advise the best way to achieve this? I also thought I would need a else just display the date but I don’t see an operator of Else.

icon

Best answer by Prineel 16 October 2020, 15:18

View original

2 replies

Hi KScobie, 

I have a solution, its a bit complex, but I will try my best to explain:

Please read all the way to the end before attempting, as the very end gives you another way to do it!!!

So firstly I recommend that you create a dataLabel or a seperate textbox to store the last day of the month date. I used a seperate text box. Here is how the expression will look like (Calender control with date set to “Current Date”):

I have created 2 texboxes (NOTE: You should change their Data type to “Date” in their properties), one that contains the last day of the month (from the expression above), and the second one will contain the last day of the month that is not a weekend:

So, the “Weekday” operator converts a date (2020/10/16) into a day in text (Firday) :

Your expression (if you use 2 different textboxes like I have) would be something like this (We are basically converting the date into a text day and saying if it equals to either Saturday or Sunday, then - 1 or -2 dates respectively. Else display the last day of the month):