Question

How to combine multiple similar items from one list into one item on another list

• 14 June 2023
  • 7 replies

Badge +2

This is in SharePoint 2016.

I have an employee time tracking system where the employee submits time for a given week to specific projects, each entry is its own item. Example below.

Employee Project Week  Time
John Doe ABD 1 12
John Doe XYZ 1 16
John Doe LMNOP 1 4

I need to take the separate items, filtered to the specific week, keep them associated to that employee, add the total time entered, and update a single list item in a different list with the new information. Like below.

Employee Total Week Time
John Doe 32

I did look through this forum post, but I am uncertain that it will work since I need it to not be associated by ID, but by employee. I am not an expert in Nintex by any means either so the clearer the instructions the better. 

7 replies

Userlevel 5
Badge +13

Hi @mstallings 

This is possible but can be a little specific to set up.

First you will need to set the workflow to query and store the list of unique users, you can do this from the target (totals) list if the users exist there already or do it from the source (project entry) list, if you do this from the project list then you will need to remove duplicates from the returned users. 

Now you have a list of all of the users that will be entered into the totals you need to get each of those users specific items.

Loop for each user > Query Project list for all items for this user > Store in a collection [Hours time]

Now you will have a loop that finds each users logged items, we need to go through them and add them together.

We do this by looping for each item and storing the hours by doing a math operation to add to a variable.

Now that we have the fully calculated value we can create the new item in the totals list and clear the variable for the next user.