Update sharepoint calendar item when separate list item is changed

Badge +3

I have a list 'assess form' based on the information in that I have a super simple workflow to create a sharepoint calendar event.

How do I modify my workflow so that it will either update the calendar event IF the event fields change OR delete the old item and create a new one? (my preference would be to update the original if possible)

I am a fairly basic and beginner user so detailed explanations or screenshots would be insanely appreciated!

Thank you!!

4049i04ACBA4E173E4E0E.png

10 replies

Userlevel 6
Badge +22
Hi,

Its hard to give advice without knowing all the intricacies but in general I would leave your current workflow to run on item creation and have a second workflow that runs when the item is modified.

One thing to add on the first workflow is to retreive the item id of the item that is created. The create item action has this built in (Store new item ID in) so just capture the ID in a variable and then update your list with the ID. Create a column just for this if you have to.

When the item is modified use the ID in the list to update the related event and just update all columns so that you dont have to worry about working out what was changed.
Badge +3
Hi Simon, thanks for replying, appreciate the help.

I’m a real beginner user, how do I capture the ID in a variable?

I know it’s probably really simple but google isn’t helping much on this topic
Userlevel 6
Badge +22

Hi,

In the Create Item action select Variables.

4095i73EBCFE303417EAA.png

Click New:

4096iE22EF4093A660431.png

Select List item ID, give it a name, and click save.

4097iE1A443E2CBC5B55D.png

Now use the variable in the Create item action in the "Store new item ID in" Field.

4101i1F78FF1CC6564E1D.png

When the new item is created the action will store the item id of the new item.