K2 Integration with Web Services

• 22 January 2009
  • 3 replies

Badge +1

Hello All,

I am very new to K2 , We have K2 Blackpearl installed in our environment.

I would like to know if we can create SmartObjects using Web Services. Basically I have web services written in .Net, what I want to do is somehow hook K2 with the web services and get the SmartObjects.

As of now I am not able to understand how can I get data into smartobjects, can I connect K2 with SQL Server and get Data in the form of SmartObjects?

If not then how K2 Blackpearl is used? is it only used for workflows? 

I can see K2 SmartObjects Solution template in Visual Studio and using that I can create hollow smart objects. I am calling them hollow as I don't know how to persist those objects in a persistent medium. 

One more thing I would like to know, is there a way to create Web Parts in K2 ?

Any help will be greatly appreciated!

Thanks,

Avinash 

3 replies

Badge +8

Avinash, Do look at creating custom service objects. Smart objects connect to service objects to load data. You can create your own service object ( Which may read from any database) and connect your smart object to that.

I don't know what you are trying to achieve but there are variety of ways to connect to data shources in black pearl. I would say go ahead and read some post in under ground and do read documentationlike Developer Reference, User Guide etc.

HTH

Badge +2

In fact you do not need to write any code, it has already been written for you...  look at the following project on blackmarket:

http://k2underground.com/k2/ProjectHome.aspx?ProjectID=45