Cannot get Attachment Validation to Work

• 14 December 2017
  • 7 replies

Badge +3

I've been following this article on how to conditionally require an attachment on a Nintex form and I haven't had any luck getting it to work.  I suspect, because I'm no expert on JavaScript, I've somehow modified the code incorrectly.

What I am trying to do is that if the Status field is set to "Completed" then there must be a minimum of two attachments. I should also explain that the Status field is a drop-down containing a selection of "Completed" along with "Not Started" and "In Process".

Thanks for your assistance.

1. function validateAttachments(source, arguments)
  2. {
  3. var elm = NWF$(‘.nf-attachmentsTable’);
  4. var statusValue = NWF$(‘#’ + StatusClientID).val();
  5. arguments.IsValid = true;if (statusValue == ‘Completed’) {
  6. if (elm.length > 0 && elm.find(‘tr’).length >= 2) {
  7. arguments.IsValid = true;
  8. } else {
  9. arguments.IsValid = false;
  10. }}}

Status field config

7 replies

Userlevel 5
Badge +14

have a look on this https://community.nintex.com/message/48663-re-can-you-validate-the-minimum-attachments-as-a-condition?commentID=48663#co… 

Badge +3

Thank you; however, I cannot seem to get this to work.  Also, I've test this below and created a variable and then referenced this variable within a calculated field I've placed on the form to see what it would render during runtime and it's not returning anything:

function GetNumberOfAttachments(attCtrlClassName){
   return NWF.FormFiller.Attachments.GetAttachedFilesCount(NWF.FormFiller.Functions.GetFillerDivObjectForControl(NWF$("#"+NWF$("." + attCtrlClassName + " .nf-attachmentsRow")[0].id)).data('controlid'))
}

Here's how I implemented it just in case I've missed something:

Form Setting JavaScript

Attachment CSS class

Status Field Validation Rule Formula

Userlevel 5
Badge +14

Check usage of GetNumberOfAttachments function carefully.