set date field based on other field selection

• 15 February 2017
  • 6 replies

Badge +5

I want to set a date/time field to the current systems dated & time when a user checks a Yes/No field. For example, "[Yes] - Equipment was collected" set the PickUpDate Field (Date/Time) with the current system date. I am not a developer so I am looking for a simply solution

6 replies

Badge +6
  1. Created a button(Check box in your case) on the form, with the action of 'JavaScript'

Form Date.png

2. Given the date/time control a Client ID
    dateTime Control.png
  3. Created the following function within the 'Custom JavaScript' section in Form Settings:
  1. function setDateTime()  
  2. {   
  3. var fullDate = new Date()  
  4. var twoDigitMonth = ("0" + (fullDate.getMonth() + 1)).slice(-2)  
  5. var hours = fullDate.getHours();  
  6. var minutes = fullDate.getMinutes();  
  7. var currentDate = fullDate.getDate() + "/" + twoDigitMonth + "/" + fullDate.getFullYear();  
  9. if (hours   < 10) { hours   = "0" + hours;   }  
  11. /** Round down to the nearest 5 minutes. This is due to us rounding the minutes but not the hours. For example, 09:58 could be rounded up to 09:60 (invalid). Instead, 09:58 becomes 09:55. 
  12. **/  
  13. minutes = minutes - 2.5;  
  14. minutes = 5 * Math.round( minutes / 5 );  
  16. // Set the date field  
  17. NWF$('#' + fldDateClosed).val(currentDate);  
  18. // Set the time (hours + minutes) fields  
  19. NWF$('#' + fldDateClosed + ' + IMG + SELECT').val(hours);  
  20. NWF$('#' + fldDateClosed + ' + IMG + SELECT + SELECT').val(minutes);  
  21. // Set Incident Status  
  22. NWF$('#' + fldStatus).val('Completed');  
  23. }  

Upon previewing, and clicking the 'Now' button on the form, it fills the input with the following:

Date Time on Form.png

Here is how to modify the hours and minutes on the form?

Here is a sample to set time to 10 AM : 45

NWF$('#' + fldDate + " + IMG + SELECT").val('10 AM');