I have many old versions of workflows so I followed these instructions How can I delete or remove a workflow?
It seems to me that either a removed workflow that starts automatically when an item is created is still around and running, or the settings from the removed version of the workflow cannot be changed. Although the workflow is no longer set to start automatically when an item is created, it does it any way.
I feel as thoguh I have lost my mind. Anyone else expericen something like this?