cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Not applicable

optional tasks & parallel actions?

Jump to solution

I am brand new to Nintex and while I'm waiting for my "official training" I'm trying to figure things out by doing. Any help for a newbie is much appreciated !

My first 2 questions are is it possible to include optional tasks in the workflow, and do so as a parallel action, but not force the workflow to wait for an optional task to be completed (which it might never be) ?

When a new item is created I want 3 things to happen simultaneously :

1 - send a notification to specific people

2 - send an optional task to a specific person to review & provide comments only (Request Review, but optional ?)

3 - send an approval task to the validator(s) - either Request Approval or a Flexi-task, I'm not sure yet which is better to use in my case

The main task of course is the approval task - the approval will be made regardless of whether the other person provides any comments. After the approval is made there should be immediately 2 more simultaneous actions : a) send notification; and b) To-do task. These actions should not have to wait for the optional comments. Once the To-do task is complete the workflow is done.

This is what I have come up with, but since I can't publish/test I don't know if it will work like I think - it is the Request Review that has me completely stumped :

Labels: (1)
0 Kudos
2 Replies
prasannaadavi
Nintex Newbie

Re: optional tasks & parallel actions?

Jump to solution

Rebekah,

I think your model will work.The request approval will move forward without waiting for the other parallel actions, and once approved will continue on to the Assign To-do Task and the send notification tasks.