cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Workflow Hero

Workflow: Email Notification based on conditions ...

Jump to solution

Hello Everybody

I am new here and hope to be able to learn and get some support

I am also new to SharePoint / Nintex and would ask for your patients.

Right, here we go...

I like to create a workflow to send an email out to certain users only when:

• a new document has been added to a specific category
  • an existing document within specific category has been modified/changed/updated.

What I have done so far is, created a Document List with its categories and set up a filter as seen below:

DocLibrary.JPG

I also created the workflow as following:

Workflow1.JPG

1st Condition (top)

1stCondition.JPG

2nd Condition (left branch)

2ndCondition.JPG

Its purpose is to check if the uploaded file is NOT the same as other documents!
Hint: just noticed it should be "is not equal" but yeh ... I changed that in meantime and yet not working!

3rd Condition (right branch)

3rdCondition.JPG

... this is a pain this!
The issue with the uploaded files is that the Uploaded on and Updated on - are only the same when
the user manages to upload the file within a minute ... otherwise there always be a time difference.

I am stuck how to get around this and driving me insane.
Probably, I am over-complicating it myself and it may be just a case of an easier solution.

Would be thankful if you can help me out

Thanks

Labels: (2)
14 Replies
Workflow Hero

Re: Workflow: Email Notification based on conditions ...

Jump to solution

Hi Bim,

I would recommend to create two seperate workflows.

1. Workflow "a new document has been added to a specific category"

• Let Workflow Start on item updated (item added won't work because you don't have access to your list columns)
  • Create a new column in your list called something like "uploadNotificationSent" (yes/no, default value: no)