I have documents in the middle of a workflow, waiting on an approval for example. If I go in and modify the workflow and publish a new version to add steps or change logic what happens to those documents? Do they run through the workflow as it was published when they entered the workflow? Or do they use the new modified workflow from the step they are currently on forward? What if I change the step they are on?
Solved! Go to Solution.
Running workflow instances will not be affected by changes you make to the workflow-definition. They will be executed with the workflow-definition of the time the workflow was started.
Only new workflow-instances will pickup the new workflow-definition.