cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Not applicable

Update Item action that is trying to complete the status of a Workflow Task gives workflow error

We are trying to run Parallel Actions; one that sends a Request Approval notification to the responsible party, and another that waits 48 hours, and if the Request Approval has not been completed, it marks it as Approved and continues with the workflow.  However, when we add the Update Item action that looks for the Title of the Workflow Task in question and tries to mark the Status field as Completed, it gives the generic "An error has occurred in <name of workflow>".

I am new to Nintex and SharePoint workflows in general, is there a way to find out more information on what is causing this?  Has anyone seen this before?  Is there a more efficient way to try to enforce an auto-approval of a task other than using the Run Parallel Actions item and calculating a designated amount of time?  Please let me know if you need additional information to help explain the issue.

0 Kudos
9 Replies
Automation Master
Automation Master

Re: Update Item action that is trying to complete the status of a Workflow Task gives workflow error

Hi Ben,

you can use automatic task escalation to auto complete the task after a certain amount of time. You can configure this escalation directly in your task action:

In the delegation configuration you can either delegate or complete the task after a certain amount of time.

I don't think you can complete a task by simply updating the task status column. If you want to autocomplete a task where you cannot configure escalation, you can call the nintex web service and use respective method.

Regards

Philipp

igorsp
Nintex Newbie

Re: Update Item action that is trying to complete the status of a Workflow Task gives workflow error