Storing SharePoint Group in Global Variables

Badge +4

SP 2013

Nintex 2013

I have a Condition that checks to see if the item is for Company A or Company B.  If Company A, the global variable CFO is set to Person; if Company B, CFO is set to Group.  Both names resolve when 'Check Names' is clicked.

When the workflow runs, it errors "User Not Found".  The comment displays the following:  Set 58;#eCARCFO_Test as CFO.

I am new to both SharePoint and Nintex.  While I am acutely aware that I can just create two different Flexi Tasks (one for Company A and one for Company B), it seems like I am replicating unnecessarily when the only difference is the person/group to whom the task will be assigned.

This must be a fairly simple resolution to someone more experienced than I.

10 replies

Userlevel 5
Badge +12

How are you setting the variables and what is their source?  It seems maybe you are pulling from a List Lookup because I see the ID of the item attached in front of the value - 58;#eCARCFO_Test.   You could probably parse this out or try to obtain the value a different way, but I'd need to know more in order to off a suggestion as to how to pull this off.  The other question is: are these values dynamic - meaning is there more than one group or person that you must choose from, or are they constant for their respective types (person or group)?

Thanks

Badge +4

Hi Leah,

Can you please try to print variable value into "Log to History List" action before you use into Flexi Task. It will be helpful to know the actual value to see what is it trying to resolve?

Thanks.

Shirin

Badge +4

Thank you for your reply.

I will try the "Log to History List" action.  What is the difference in using this action instead of setting a message to log under the Common section?

I have the message to log on completion printing the value that is getting set, which is how I was able to see the 58;#eCARCFO_Test.  The name of the group I am setting the variable to is eCARCFO_Test.