How can I Copying items from list to another based on created date field

• 8 August 2017
  • 3 replies

Badge +1

I am new to Nintex so I apologize if I do not get in all the details in my first question.  So here is my scenario:

I have two lists, list A and list B.  I need to see if it is possible to copy items from list A to list B based on the "Created" date field using a Nintex workflow.  I would like to have the workflow go through all the items in the list and determine (based on Created date field) which items to copy over.  Not sure of which action, "For Each" or Loop", or how to use them for that matter.  Sorry I am a newbie.  Any help is very much appreciated.

3 replies

Badge +16

Hi and welcome happy.png

A few questions:

1. How do you want your workflow to start?  manually, automatically, scheduled weekly etc?
  2. What is the actual criteria you want around created date?  Created within the last 30 days for example

In general I would approach this sort of problem with a site workflow.  The site workflow would:

1. query the list A and filter the records according to your requirement and put the ID field into a collection of IDs.
  2. For each ID in the collection, query list A again to get the columns needed to insert into list B
  3. Insert item in list B

I can definitely do you a demonstration if you let me know the columns in list A and list B and your criteria for the items that need copying?

Badge +1

Hi Cassy,

Thank you very much for reaching out I do appreciate it.  To answer your questions:

1. The workflow would start manually as this is a one time deal in this scenario.  Basically we forgot to create a new list based on fiscal year so just need to copy items from List A to List B which were entered at the beginning of our fiscal year (July 1st).

2. Need to copy any items entered after July 1st 2017 from List A to List B.