Is it possible to create a folder in a SharePoint list through a SmartObject?

• 20 April 2009
  • 4 replies

Badge +2

I am using SmartObjects to load process documents into a document library in SharePoint.  I am wondering if there is an easy way with a SmartObject to create the folder before uploading the document?  It does not seem to work just setting the folder name on the document creation, I assume it expects that the folder already exists.

I am fairly new to K2 so any help would be appreciated.

Thanks,

Jason

4 replies

Badge +6

Hi Jason,

a good way consists to use the Web Service Object (http://www.k2underground.com/k2/ProjectHome.aspx?ProjectID=45) to invoke the createFolder method from the DWS WSS/MOSS web service (http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/ms774480.aspx). Unfortunately, I faced recently a WSS/MOSS bug with these method:

In certain case, it can only create a folder into the default document library of the specified site and not on the docLib I use in parameter of the method.

So, for now, my recommendation is to create a very simple web-service creating a wss/moss folder (using WSS API) and after you can use it with a smartobject.

HTH

Badge +2

Thanks Jan,

This definitely lead me down the path.  I opted to use the SharePoint library and have put together the code as follows:

using

(SPSite siteCollection = new SPSite(VPApprovalForms.Properties.Settings.Default["MossURL"].ToString()))

{

siteCollection.AllowUnsafeUpdates =

true;

using (SPWeb site = siteCollection.AllWebs[VPApprovalForms.Properties.Settings.Default["SiteName"].ToString()])

{

site.AllowUnsafeUpdates =

true;

SPDocumentLibrary docLib = (SPDocumentLibrary)site.Lists[VPApprovalForms.Properties.Settings.Default["VPDocLibraryName"].ToString()];

SPFolderCollection folColl = site.Folders;

//NOTICE: String replace to switch '-' with '%2d' for the URL

folColl.Add(VPApprovalForms.Properties.