How can I set up the workflow to send a rejected approval back to the initiator and then have them resubmit?

• 22 November 2017
  • 16 replies

Badge +3

I am new to Nintex and thought this would have to be simple, but all the discussions I have seen are very complex. I have a single approval that if rejected, needs to be sent back to the initiator and then they make any necessary corrections and resubmit. How can I make that happen?

16 replies

Badge +9

see Document Review and Approval (State Machine) Workflow by .

There You will also find a example workflow for download.

Badge +3

thanks I will take a look

Badge +3

I am looking for more of a step by step.

Userlevel 5
Badge +14

maybe these will make it more clear for you

Using State Machine Workflows 

Badge +3

Yes Thank you. I was able to set it up and it worked, but the way the set up is, the same person who submits the Nintex Form also has to approve. Does that step have to happen? Really, Person A submits the form and it should then go to Person B. Person B either approves and it moves on or declines and the form is sent back to Person A to resubmit.

Userlevel 6
Badge +15

How do you define Person B?
Like, is the approver indicated in another field on the form, or does it have to be looked up from a list?

Userlevel 5
Badge +14
the same person who submits the Nintex Form also has to approve. Does that step have to happen

no, this doesn't happen on its own, it happens because you configured it so.

can you post some screenshot(s) how did you configure workflow and task action itself?

Badge +3

Person B is the only approver. But, if they do not approve the form, I would like them to be able to reject it and it be sent  back to Person A, who submitted the form to fix and then resubmit again to Person B. Once Person B approves, the form is then going to be sent for processing by the next department.

Badge +3