Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
dgraves
Nintex Newbie

Query List Item ID to populate List Item control

Jump to solution

Hello there,

I'm a Nintex newbie so bear with me.

I have two forms. The first list is called Monitor Tracking - Classic and the second list is called UFF Tracking - Classic. I want to populate fields based on a lookup function that pulls column data from the first list. The user will type in a known number into a field named "Monitor Number". Typing this in, should pull the data from the first list that matches the Monitor Number. I noticed that the Classic form has a control called "List Item". Here's how I attempted to use it. Anyone know what I'm doing wrong? Or will this form control not accomplish what I'm looking to do?

1. I created a Form Variable named Monitor_Item_ID with a lookup formula that will pull the value from the list item's ID column:   lookup("Monitor Tracking - Classic", "Monitor Number", Monitor_Number, "ID")Form Variable screenshot
  2. I then added the List Item control to my form. Edited the control settings. It seems as though the List Item ID field in the control properties wants a number because I get this error if I type in the form variable name.
  3. So then I tried to use the GetStringQuery formula to pull the ID. It did not give me an error so I had high hopes that it would work. I set the Advanced settings to show an error if the list item doesn't exist to aid in troubleshooting.
  4. However, when I click Preview and type in a known good number into the Monitor Number field and tab to the next field to trigger the runtime refresh, the List Item doesn't populate.
  5. So I thought maybe it won't work in preview mode so I save and publish my form. Then click New Item and populate the Monitor Number field. Unfortunately I get the error that the list item with zero doesn't exist.

So this leads me to believe that my formula in the "List Item ID" isn't correct. Help!