Set Field Value

Badge +3

I'm working with SharePoint 2010 and Nintex Workflow 2010.

When using the Set Field Value action, I have it successfully updating a field with the new value which shows up in my columns in the library.  However, the form itself does not get the new value.  Am I missing an action that actually changes the form?

I tried to chain "Set Field Value" followed by "Update Item", but this did not set the form field value.  What am I missing here.  If this is to vague, please let me know and I will gladly add more info if needed.

20 replies

Userlevel 5
Badge +14

if you can see the value in library/list you should see it in form as well.

check the form whether form control is connected to list field.

you need not "to chain" set value and update item action, they do just the same.

Badge +3

So, I'm new to this world.  If I look at my form, how do I know if the form control is connected to the list field? 

Userlevel 5
Badge +14

207368_pastedImage_1.png

Badge +3

I'm using InfoPath 2013 to create the form templates and SharePoint 2010.  I don't see what you are seeing.

Userlevel 5
Badge +14

ah, ok. you haven't mentioned that.

my example is from nintex forms.

then I'm sorry, I do not have experience with InfoPath, but I believe somebody else will guide you.

maybe this will help as well - Introduction to controls - InfoPath 

Badge +16

Is this a forms library or a custom list with infopath? 

Badge +3

Forms Library.

Badge +16

OK you need to actually create the control inside InfoPath and promote it - that will then display as a column that you should be able to update with workflow.

Badge +16

http://support.formotus.com/hc/en-us/articles/201042367-How-to-promote-fields-in-InfoPath-2010-2013

Badge +16

Hold on just seen this doesn't actually make the field available in workflow...  let me investigate.

Badge +16

this might help

SOLUTION: