View flow permissions

• 12 January 2008
  • 14 replies

Badge +3

When trying to view the flow of a process instance, the window first shows a broken image, then a minute or so after it says (in place of the broken image):

The View Flow permissions have not been configured.
Administrative rights are required on the local machine to install the View Flow.

I am a local administrator on my client PC, so admin rights don't appear to be the problem.  Any ideas?

14 replies

Badge +8
Are you an administrator on the K2 server too (ie is the user account you using been set up as an administrator in the K2 Workspace >> Management Console)?
Badge +4

I get the same problem on a client machine. It seems that the View Flow compenent needs the running user to be local administrator to be able to view it.

Can somebody confirm the requirements or process they followed to roll out the View Flow capability in the enterprise. Naturally none of the thousand users here are local admins on their machines.

Regards,
Gabriel

Badge +3
Yes, the user account I am using is an admin in the K2 server (Management Console -> Workflow Server -> Server Rights).  This account is also a local administrator on the server, so I can't imagine it is a permissions problem.
Badge +9
Just to check is the .NET framework 2.0 and 3.0 installed on the client machine and also is there any policies being applied which affect the IE zone security settings?
Badge +3

.NET 2.0 and 3.0 are installed on the client machine.

There are some group policies that are applied, but I'm not sure what they are.  I have added the server URL to the client's trusted sites list.  What specific policies is the view flow functionality dependent upon?

Badge +4
We've installed .NET 3 on the machine and now it works. Does this mean we need to roll out .NET 3 on all desktops that will access the Viewflow?
Badge +3